Intro

Hi, I’m Rob.

.snowbike

I feel that we consume too much, especially oil, and don’t realize the global effects. I think it is part of our culture, but we were tricked into it. And it does not have to be this way. It was not going to be this way. I think we have to turn it around, and we can. The solutions exist. For example, a 30 lb. bicycle can do so many things that a 4000 lb. car can do for the average commuter. But the big oil and auto industries have been telling us that we need a chainsaw to cut butter.

Bikes were here and used before cars. The first roads were built for bicycles. Bikes are now being used and celebrated more and more. There are commuter bikes in Ford truck and McDonald’s commercials, among others. Cities across the country are investing billions of dollars in real, effective bicycle infrastructure and programs.

I truly appreciate the bicycle and reel mower as efficient and effective human powered machines.  So using both to promote consuming less oil is easy for me. I’ve spent so much time on the bike seat thinking about this stuff, that I need to start this blog.

Hopefully it will stay solution-based, from experience, and a way to share ideas. Part of the solution though is facing the facts, and I will try to address the issues I know and am passionate about. But I will also try to bring up the positive ideas to an issue, but welcome more knowledgeable, productive input.

I live a relatively low-impact lifestyle for an American, so I want to share my view and what works for me, and others I know.

Thanks for visiting my blog!

Published by

robsbike2013

Bachelor of Science in Natural Resources - Colorado State. Promoted alternative transportation, especially bicycles, for four years at City of Fort Collins SmartTrips Program. Rob's Bike Courier Service for nine years. Completed solo, self-contained, cross-country bike tour, riding over 6,000 miles in almost four months. Created the Car-Free Recreation Guide to Northern Colorado, published in 2008. Owner and operator of Get Reel! Push Mowers, a push-reel mower sharpening service. Gardener. Composter. Car-free almost 10 years.

Leave a Reply

